Finis — My Afghan is Finally Done

Last night I (FINALLY) finished my “Spectrum Afghan” and this morning I took the pictures to prove it. Okay, okay, I started it in 2006, have worked on it in between many other projects, but I picked it up this fall and was determined to finish it before the year 2009 ended. The final size is 80″x80″, big enough to fit on our king size bed. The “Spectrum Afghan” pattern was a free wrapper pattern (#LW1233) from Coats & Clark/ Red Heart and unfortunately, I couldn’t find it on their website. I’m usually an all natural fiber girl, but I used acrylic (gasp) for this project because I want to be able to throw it in the washer and dyer. I finished the edges with three rounds of single crochet and the final row with a single crochet and picot edge.It weighs a ton, but should keep us warm and cozy this winter.

15 Comments

Filed under crochet

15 responses to “Finis — My Afghan is Finally Done

  1. Oh, Cathy, it’s marvelous! I literally gasped when the first picture came up. Bravo! Three years well worth it, I’d say.

  2. Marilyn

    Yep, my first reaction was Wow! You are a patient lady and it turned out awesome.

  3. Wow! Acrylic or not that afghan takes my breath away. Beautiful work!

  4. Caroline

    Cathy, this is gorgeous! What an awesome afghan!

  5. Amazing! I love the colors, and the effect of the whole piece when you look at it as a whole. Beautiful work, regardless of the fiber content!!

  6. WOW! Rockstar! It’s lovely. Just lovely!
    And I bet that thing weighs a TON! I love that it’s king sized! :) You should stay very warm this winter!

  7. WOW!!! beautimous work. Love the colors!

  8. That is majorly beautiful :-) Be a real shame to put all that work into it and then have it felt! so hurray for acrylic…lol

  9. Beautiful!! What a labor of love. I don’t know how you managed to keep up the patience to work on it, but it was soooo worth it!

  10. Mary Lou Griswold

    Too cool!!! I love the bright colors. I bet it does weigh a ton…..I remember how heavy one was that I was making for my Daughter and it wasn’t as large. That’s a whole lotta crocheting to make it 80″ x 80″. Great finish!

    Hey, how are the pups? You need to post some recent pics of Louis.

  11. Wow! That is so lovely!!! Stop making me want to crochet! LOL Seriously though…. gorgeous work, the colorwork is amazing!

  12. Sandy

    Wow, what a beautiful afghan. You should be very proud of yourself. It came out perfect. If you ever find the pattern, I hope you can share it with us. :)

  13. Di

    It is absolutely beautiful. Did you make up the colors, or were they given? Wonderful job.

  14. Love the colors you used…awesome job!

Leave a Reply

