Summer Spinning

I’ve been doing a bit of spinning lately and here are a couple of things still in the works.

First some roving that I dyed at spring Yarn School. I’ve discovered that I’m the most pleased with my spinning when I’ve pre-drafted quite a bit. My singles seem to come out more consistent and I’m able to achieve a sport or dk weight yarn after plying.

https://colorandtexture.files.wordpress.com/2008/07/s-s.jpg

Second, some superwash merino that I bought from Sereknity Boutique on Etsy called “Wild Side”. The color is outrageously bright and fun and I thought I would ply it with a solid turquoise (that I’ve yet to dye).https://colorandtexture.files.wordpress.com/2008/07/wildside.jpg

8 Comments

Filed under dyeing, fiber, spinning

8 responses to “Summer Spinning

  1. Marilyn

    They both are turning out awesome. I had a day of mad spinning after that weekend and then I stopped. You are inspiring me to start again.

  2. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    I’ve just gotten the blue and green singles plied, so hopefully, I’ll get that posted this weekend. I was so inspired after our fun weekend, I need to keep that going!

  3. beautiful color, cathy!

    what do you plan to make out of the brighter yarn??

  4. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    Thanks, Gina! One of my nieces is expecting her first baby and I thought a little sweater set would be cute out of the brighter yarn.

  5. Love love LOVE! Your fiber turned out so nice. You have the magic touch!

  6. I LOVE those colors!! Woo Hoo!

  7. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

