School time for Louis

Louis and I attended our first conformation class last night and next week we start obedience training as well. Sweet little Louis just did grand considering that’s he’s five months old, but I’d have to say that his favorite part was the nap he took on the drive back home. You would think that after watching the Dog Whisperer for so many years, that all of Cesar’s wisdom and training techniques would have made their way from the tv screen and into my wee brain to make me be able to direct Louis with just the twitch of a finger, but alas, (sigh) that’s only a distant dream. Whenever I’ve taken any of my dogs through any type of class, I realize that I’m the one that needs to be trained! I’m the one with the bad habits! We’ve been given our homework, so I’m hoping we’ll (I’ll) make some progress this week. As you can see, Louis has already started studying.

7 Comments

Filed under Cardigan Welsh Corgi, dogs

7 responses to “School time for Louis

  1. Marilyn

    I am sure you and Louis will do awesome. I mean he is already studying and everything. hehe

  2. Training dogs is really more about training the human than training the dog! Have fun with your obedience class!

  3. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    So true! Being a little herder, Louis is just waiting to know what to do and I need to learn how communicate the information. You’re such a great trainer and I love watching the videos of what your dogs can do. Thanks for the encouragement!

  4. He is so gorgeous! The giant speckled ears are killing me 🙂

  5. “Huh? Wasn’t me!”

    I love his squirrel in the headlights look!

  6. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    His ears flap in the wind when he runs and he always has that startled, “what?!” look. He makes me laugh — A LOT!!

  7. I’m glad you enjoy our videos! Cardis are so darn smart–the trick is getting them to think that what they are doing is all their idea–not yours! I can’t wait to hear how things go for you and Louis–enjoy.

Leave a Reply

