My Great-Aunt Ett’s Oatmeal Cookies

I’m not a great cook by any stretch of the imagination, but one thing I do enjoy is baking. With all the beautiful fall follage and the chill in the autumn air, it seemed time to make one of my favorite cookie recipes — Great-Aunt Ett’s Oatmeal Cookies. I’ve added a few of my own ideas to the recipe (like adding walnuts, using olive oil instead of lard and adding flax meal, plus my mom put teaspoon values to the spices and oven temperature), but it’s still the same great standby that’s been in our family for ages.

GREAT-AUNT ETT’S OATMEAL COOKIE RECIPE

Ingredients:

1 cup sugar

3 tblsp flax meal

1 cup olive oil

2 eggs

1/4 cup milk

2 cups flour

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

2 cups oatmeal

1 cup raisins

1 cup walnuts

Combine sugar, oil, flax meal, eggs,& milk; set aside.

Combine flour, soda, salt, cinnamon & nutmeg. Sift this mixture into the liquid mixture.

Add oatmeal and mix thoroughly. Add raisins and walnuts and mix thoroughly.

Drop from a teaspoon onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 8 to 9 minutes, or until golden brown. Makes approximately 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

Eat and enjoy!

7 Comments

Filed under baking, food

7 responses to “My Great-Aunt Ett’s Oatmeal Cookies

  1. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    I’m a chocolate fanatic, but I think these oatmeal cookies are my all time favorites.

  2. These look yummy! I love chocolate, but somehow not in cookies. Oatmeal raisins and ginger snaps are my faves.

  3. These are wonderful cookies – I made a batch yesterday. Thanks!

  4. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    You’re welcome! I’m so glad that you like them!

  5. JL

    Thanks for the recipe. In the recipe is tsp a teaspoon or tablespoon? Thanks

  6. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    You’re welcome!
    In the recipe, “tsp” is teaspoon and “tblsp” is tablespoon. I hope you enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

