Daily Archives: December 23, 2008

Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow!

This year I had two items in the Hallmark Christmas line — my South Pole Pals revisited in miniature form and a snowman treat jar. The ornaments are sold as a set of the same four little fellow as a follow up to last years ornaments.

south-pole-pals

The Snowman was very fun to sculpt. I got to spend a week in the ceramic lab working in clay to develop this fellow. When the sculpture was finished, a mold was made and reworked to the finished product.

together

I’ve shown side by side, the original snowman that I sculpted and how the retail product turned out. As you can see, the original was much bigger in size and the colors palette was reduced to five colors and more traditional feeling. I indicated on a drawing where the lid line should be.

origina

Here’s my original after it’s been glazed and fired.

new1

Here’s the finished product that’s out on the shelves.

When the lid of the snowman treat jar is lifted, the tune “Let it Snow, Let it Snow, Let it Snow” plays. This makes me laugh everytime!

MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

3 Comments

Filed under Other Stuff