Yummy Mummy Wristwarmers

When one of my nieces said that she wanted a pair of fingerless gloves, I decided that I would make her a pair for Christmas. The pattern I used was “Yummy Mummy Wristwarmers”, a Ravelry download by Alexandra Brinck .

yummy-mummy

I used Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Merino yarn and US#0 needles. Because the yarn is a fingering weight, I used a toothpick, with the pointy ends sanded down, as my cable needle. It was just the right small size to easily hold the cable stitches forward of back.

yummy-mummy-wristwarmers

The palm has a twisted rib (purl, knit through the back of the stitch) so it has a firmer fabric.
yummy-mummy-2

These were so fast to knit and they look darling on my niece (who is the lovely hand model)!

6 Comments

Filed under knitting

6 responses to “Yummy Mummy Wristwarmers

  1. These are wonderful! Love the colors and the pattern you used. I just made my first set of arm warmers this week just doing a knit stitch all thhe way down and sewing the seam. I hope to learn to do cables and knit in the round soon though!

  2. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    Cables are so very easy, yet they look so complicated! When I knit socks and mittens in the round, I use two 16″ circular needles, dividing the stitches in half on each needle. I’m glad you like these!

  3. Things like this makes me wish I could count, so I could DIY! Instead, I spin and trade yarn for knitting with friends 😉 heehee

  4. Oh, those are just beautiful! What lovely work you do.

  5. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    Emily, a trade works in a heartbeat!

Leave a Reply

