Pomatomus Socks are Done!

I’m so pleased with these finished socks!  The pattern is Pomatomus by Cookie A and it can be found at Knitty.com (free — love free).  The 1×1 rib has the effect of fans or scales and my friend Ana suggested that I should rename these my Kelpy socks, after the selkie mer-people of Scottish and Irish folklore (did anyone else see “The Secret of Roan Inish“?!?).  The yarn is Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Merino and I used 2.5mm needles.  The blues and greens of the yarn just accentuate the fanning and the feel of it is yummy soft and comfortable!

p

5 Comments

Filed under knitting, socks

5 responses to “Pomatomus Socks are Done!

  1. THUD…

    (that was me passing out from pure envy)



    (and then upon bleary eyed wakening…)

    I will learn to knit socks.
    I will learn to knit socks.
    I will learn to knit socks.
    (repeat…)

  2. Marilyn

    Wow, you are a sock making fool lately. Both pairs are beautiful and are inspiring me to attempt more complex patterns. Well more complex than stockinette. haha

  3. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    I’m totally on a sock making binge right now — I was looking at patterns last night because I want to start another pair. I think because it’s so cold out and it get dark so much earlier, I just want to scoop up the dogs, get in bed under the covers and knit away. Okay, that’s one honkin’ big pair of feet in that picture . . . I won’t tip over in the wind anytime soon.

  4. Oh now, it’s just the camera angle. I’m quite sure you wear a size 6 shoe. 🙂

  5. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    In my dreams when I was 3 years old! 🙂

Leave a Reply

