Sweater Class at Urban Arts & Crafts

I’m going to be teaching a “My First Sweater/ Top Down” at Urban Arts & Crafts this winter.

pattern

The class will meet on three Sunday afternoon, with a week in between each meeting ( January 18, February 1 & 15), the idea being that we’ll meet, learn, then knit like crazy for two weeks, meet and talk over any problems and get more instruction, go off and knit like crazy again for two weeks, then have our final meeting and finish things up.

4-class

The pattern is fairly straightforward and versatile. It gives the option for four (4) different gauge sizes and six (6) sweater sizes. Then you can choose crew neck or v-neck (or cardigan, though I’m not encouraging that one because of the button holes). I’ve changed up my version of the sweater a bit by making a wider neck, 6 1/2″ ribbing for the cuffs and 11″ ribbing for on the sweater body.

I haven’t taught for the past 3 years — planning a wedding, getting married and then life just took a lot of time. This fall I began to feel the urge to teach again, and Karen (the woman behind UA & C) gave me a spot on her schedule again. Know, let’s see if I can dust all the cobwebs out of my brain!

10 Comments

Filed under knitting

10 responses to “Sweater Class at Urban Arts & Crafts

  1. Now, you see, I was all so excited there for a moment, because I thought that second picture showed you with an iPod, and I was like “YESSSSS, she’s going to do a podcast of the class! Awesome! I can participate!!” But no, it was a camera. Now I’ll go cry again.

    Actually, today I bought yet *another* sock book. This one is called “2-at-a-time Socks” by Melissa Morgan-Oakes. See the trouble I get into all because of your lovely sock photos. I haven’t even started to knit one yet, and now I’m contemplating two at a time! Gah!!

    I hope there isn’t a 2-at-a-time sweater book.

  2. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    Girl, you totally make me smile!

  3. Well you make me smile too, and that’s why I nominated you today for the Lemonade Stand Award. The details are on my blog. You inspire me!

  4. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    Claire, thank you so much! I read the details and visited the other blogs and they’re great — I’m flattered that you like my blog. That’s just such a nice compliment! Well right back at you!

  5. Looks great, Cathy!

    Which reminds me, I’d better get started on my January sweater…

  6. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    Thanks Nikol! The class starts today, so hopefully, all will go well!

  7. Oh that’s a lovely sweater on you. Have fun with the class! You’ve got that natural teaching ability, I’m sure it’ll come right back!

  8. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    Christine, yesterday went well! The class was full, with six people. Since it’s a top down sweater, we hit ALL the hard stuff yesterday — a ton of information for a two hour class! Thanks for the encouragement!

  9. Abby

    Just wanted to let you know the class is meeting on Sundays at Borders at Boardwalk. Three of us have finished our sweaters, the other 3 are working steadily on them. We picked out another sweater we want to do as a group and are anxiously awaiting our next class with you. We all agree we learned so much and really enjoyed the class and have made new friends. Thanks again for a very wonderful educational class.

  10. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    Abby, I’m SO glad you enjoyed the class!!

Leave a Reply

