Nine-to-Five Socks

I’m about half way through my first sock using the “Nine-to-Five” sock pattern by Nicole Hindes. This is a free pattern that can be found on Nicoles’ blog . . . almost all buttoned up.

9-2-51

I’m using Lorna’s Lace Shepherd Sock Multi in the colorway 64 Gold Hill on 2.5mm needles. The pattern is very fun and starts with a 4×2 ribbing. That sets up the pattern, which is a faux cable from the Barbara Walker “A Treasury of Knitting Patterns”. If you’re not familiar with this book, go check it out at your local library or bookstore because it truly is a treasury of patterns. There are a total of four volumns and they are a wealth of information. The faux cables look complicated but is deceitfully easy (you’ll have to look up the pattern and see for yourself!), so I can actually take it to a knitting group, talk, drink coffee and NOT get lost in the pattern (and then have to rip out everyting I just knit)!

7 Comments

Filed under knitting, socks

7 responses to “Nine-to-Five Socks

  1. What a lovely pattern, it makes the yarn’s colors really shine!

  2. Oh how you mock me….you sock goddess you! “Deceitfully easy” you say to me, the multi-thumbed knitting failure…

    (muttering in the corner with a ball of wool and a tangle of something that might have been knitting, once upon a time)

  3. How do you get so much done? I’ve been working on the same knitted (no pattern, no nothin’) for a month.

  4. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    Kate, I get more knitting done in the winter because I like to get in bed alittle earlier, get the dogs up there with me, turn on a movie and knit. In the summer — forget it!! 🙂

  5. Marilyn

    I can’t wait to see them finished. Knitting, movies and pets are the best things ever.

  6. Those are really lovely! And thanks for your kind words about Triad.

  7. c o l o r & t e x t u r e

    Thank you and you’re welcome Fleegle!

Leave a Reply

