Hen & Chicks

from-the-top

I took a workshop with Cindy Andrews, a wonderful rug hooking artist and teacher, years ago and began this chicken that I designed.  It’s done with commercial wool fabric, that’s been over dyed and slightly felted.  After cutting the fabric into 1/4″ strips, it was hooked into the design that I drew onto monk’s cloth, while stretched over a frame.  I then sewed squares of the same fabric for the edging of the cushion along with a coordinating braid.  I found the wicker base at a little shop and tied the finished cushion on it.  

side-view1

As much as I enjoyed making this, I’ve never done anymore rug hooking — there’s just too much to learn and do and NOT enough time!

close-up3

7 Comments

Filed under Other Stuff

7 responses to “Hen & Chicks

  1. Marilyn

    Wow, I wish I had an ounce of your creativity. That is aweseome.

  2. That is adorable! And I am such a chicken person, so for me it’s particularly special. Even better, it doesn’t make me feel like I need to put on the dunce cap and sit in the corner (like with the socks) because I could probably actually manage to do something like rug hooking.

    By the way, I tried knitting again the other day. My tension was so tight I couldn’t poke the needle into the stitches on the other needle any more after 2 rows. My sock dreams are so crushed.

  3. WOWZER! I haven’t touched my rugmaking in 3 years. But I know who to call when I do….lol. Love the design!!!

  4. flickerslair

    Wow what a gorgeous chicken and how clever to turn it into a stool. I second Marilyn, I wish I too had a fraction of your creativity and talent.

  5. What a great design and so practical! You are amazing!

  6. What a cheerful design! I love the bright colors with the wicker base.

  7. I love this!
    Haven´t seen anything made in this technique in Sweden. Looks wonderful -and I bet it´s fun to make as well!
    Anna

Leave a Reply

