“My Sweet Little Nothing Shrug”, er, Cardigan

little sweater

This is my version of the “Sweet Little Nothing Shrug” pattern by Kay Meador, a free Ravelry pattern. I decided to make this little sweater using my own handspun that I had spun from fiber I had bought from The Arts at Eagles Find in the “Under the Sea” colorway. I spun it in a worsted weight and knit with US#8 needles.  The sweater is knit top down with raglan sleeves and I love that there were no seams to sew up.  I modified it by adding length and decreases for shaping to both the sleeves and body and changed it from a single snap closing at the neck to nine button and button holes.  Whew, I was a bit worried about having enough yarn during the final stages of knitting, but, I had JUST enough yarn, with maybe six inches left when all was said and done!  It’s just right for the crisp weather of fall, yet not too warm to wear in my office.

blue & green

4 Comments

Filed under knitting, spinning

4 responses to ““My Sweet Little Nothing Shrug”, er, Cardigan

  1. Caroline

    How pretty! It fits perfectly.

  2. Jacqui

    Clever! Love the colour of your handspun but MOSTLY the many buttons. Cool!

  3. very cute! I like that pattern. The puppy search will wait until spring….hub is still mending a broken heart over our Molly. It can’t be rushed to my schedule 😦 Did you go to spinsters in Lawrence? I’m missing the gang.

  4. OH it’s fabulous! I love the yarn AND the sweater! 🙂

Leave a Reply

