Gaia Shawlette/Shoulder Hug

It has been snowing and bone chillingly cold this holiday and that’s made it difficult to get out and do much of anything. Luckily the gym we go to is only about two miles from our house and I’ve bundled up and gotten there most days so I won’t dissolve into a total glob. But I have to admit that I love this time of year when it comes to knitting and crocheting. One of my favorite things to do is curl up with a good movie, Sam & Louis tucked in tightly beside me and a great knitting project. The Gaia Shawlette/Shoulder Hug by Anne Carroll Gilmour was knit in just that situation.

Gaia is available as a free down-load both on Ravelry and on the Wildwest Woolies website. The pattern is very easy and consists of stockinette, reverse stockinette and 2tog/YO, making the shawlette reversible.

I used US #5/3.75mm 24″ circular needles and Araucania Ranco Multy fingering weight yarn in colorway *318. The shawlette took almost the entire 376 yards

I still get a bit excited when I finish a project like this because I know that the tiny, wrinkled piece that comes off the needles is going to bloom into a light and airy garment.

Several years ago I invested in a blocking board that I ordered from Webs (this is a thick 3/4″ board with a preprinted grid on it making it so much easier to wet block garments) and then last fall I invested in a set of lace blocking wires. The blocking wires help to make the edges of the lace straight and consistent. I also pinned the picot edged points and this also opened up the YO’s.

I didn’t wet block this shawlette fiercely, but I stretched it enough to fully open up the simple lace patterning. The finished size is a width of 52″ and 35″ to the middle point.

5 Comments

Filed under knitting

5 responses to “Gaia Shawlette/Shoulder Hug

  1. Denise W.

    hey cathy…that shrug is beautiful and the blocking really makes it showy! I started this same project in angora but it was too bulky…..so it is hibernating now. I need to frog it and restart in something that will show off the YO

    happy new year…..BTW I am really impressed you did another afghan. Both are so beautiful.

  2. Wow, that is gorgeous! I can even understand the stitches in that pattern! But it would take me 3 years to do that. So, in your spare time and all, I think blue-green would suit me….don’t you? I’ll be looking forward to it! Bwwwaaaahahahahahaaha!

  3. Marilyn

    It is beautiful. I wish I would have had your same resolve to get to the gym, because I feel like I turned into a complete glob over winter break.

  4. OMG that is gorgeous! I gotta learn to knit………or send you some yarn that you could return after you’d worked your magic with it. 😉

  5. Thank you so much for liking this pattern, you did a beautiful job on it & I love the yarn you used, you do my simple little shawl pattern proud!

Leave a Reply

