BIG knitting

Oh, my, I saw these on Christien Meindertsma’s website and my mouth just flew open and then I got a big grin on my face!  I love these giant garter stitch cushions that are called urchin pouf’s.  I so want to see these being made — wait, what am I saying?!  I want to try making these!

As you can see, the needle size is definitely off the charts.  Meindertsma is a young Dutch designer that has an innovative and humorous approach to knitting.  She has a product line called FLOCKS, that as the website says is “a knitwearbrand in the broadest sense of the word.”  She was also a part of an exhibit at the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum called “Design for a Living World” that highlighted items made from sustainable materials from around the globe.  Go to YouTube and you can hear her thoughts on her work.

(photos from Dezeen and Christien Meindertsma)

4 Comments

Filed under knitting, Other Stuff

4 responses to “BIG knitting

  1. Those urchin pouf’s are too cool. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Wow! Those are such fun! How many ply is that yarn anyway?! Um, just a reminder, my shawlette hasn’t arrived in the mail yet… 😉

  3. Caroline

    This is neat! Love the poufs…

  4. Holey Moley! Can you imagine trying to manhandle those humongous knitting needles?

Leave a Reply

